How to make a bread

This recipe doesn’t require much skills and there’s absolutely no need to have a bread  machine. I’m going to show you how I make the traditional bread being made for centuries around the central Europe.

You’ll need:

1/2 kg flour(Atta)

1 tea spoon of dried yeast

1 glass of lukewarm water

salt,olive oil, water

optional:caraway seeds,vinegar

1. Mix well in glass the water and yeast. The solution will start ‘growing’ soon. Allow about 20 minutes.

2. Mix a flour with a yeast you’d just made in a deep bowl with the salt. I like to put there some caraway seeds as the give the bread very specific taste.Make sure all is kneaded properly as the yeast has to be spread evenly with a flour and water. Try to play with a mass for at least 5 minutes. Have a fun! This reminds me when I was a kid and we used to play with a plasteline. Your hands will be sticky a bit, what I do is to ‘wash’ them with an olive oil before kneading.

4.Prepare the baking tray. Place the bread-stuff on the tray and leave it to grow. Cover it with tea towel.It will take about 60-90 minutes to raise.

4. Heat your oven to maximum , gas 8, electric  240°C. After 20 minutes place the bread-stuff in the oven. I flip the bread over in the tray just when it turns nice  and crispy looking. I leave the bread in oven for about 30 minutes at least, it will makes sure the bread is properly made inside out.

And finally freshly baked loaf of  traditional bread:

Enjoy and have a fun!

About maersky

www.muscatinoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Food&Drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to make a bread

  1. Thanks! My father and I used to make bread when I was a youngster. I remember it being a difficult task. You make it look so easy. Will definitely try this – with the caraway seeds, too.

Leave a Reply

